You Are What You Eat. You Feel How You Think. Join the Organic Revolution @

There Are 5 Stages Of Love (But Most People Get Stuck On #3)

Relationships are hard, and even the best relationships still evolve and change, so much so that love psychologists such as Dr. Jed Diamond have actually put such changes into phases.

In particular, we’re interested in five phases – and the stunning realization that most relationships get stuck in stage three.

Let’s take a closer look at those five phases:

1. Falling in Love

The falling in love stage may be an evolutionary trick – designed to make sure we propagate and our species continues – but that doesn’t make the hormones released (such as dopamine, oxytocin, and serotonin) any less pleasurable.

2. Becoming Partners

As the infatuation of stage one fades, couples here start to build a pragmatic and close bond. Hormones balance out – so it’s not as exciting – but it is more sustainable.

3. Disillusionment

Look, it’s pretty natural that at some point partners begin feeling misunderstood and underappreciated. None of us are perfect, and we should understand that about our partners, too. Unfortunately for many couples, this is instead where they choose to part ways, rather that grow through the experience.

There’s another choice, though: Using the disillusionment as an opportunity to keep pushing forward.

4. Real Love

When couples push through their disillusionment, they learn who they each are. They begin to see how their past affects their future. As a result, these couples develop a mature relationship.

5. Combining Forces

Couples who make it to stage five can fully expect to change the world. This is the culmination of two people becoming one.

So how do you get to stage five? Remember your relationship isn’t a sprint – and work on communication, while developing both your cooperation and independence.

Have a look at this fun video for a different, fun look at the 5 stages of love!

If you enjoyed this article or learned something new, please don’t forget to share it with others so they have a chance to enjoy this free information. This article is open source and free to reblog or use if you give a direct link back to the original article URL. Thanks for taking the time to support an open source initiative. We believe all information should be free and available to everyone. Have a good day and we hope to see you soon!

There Are 5 Stages Of Love (But Most People Get Stuck On #3) There Are 5 Stages Of Love (But Most People Get Stuck On #3) Reviewed by matt on 18:22:00 Rating: 5